NCAA upends UAAP!

In a showdown between the two of the nation’s top collegiate leagues, the NCAA All-Stars avenged its loss against the UAAP All-Stars last year winning 83-78 in the 2007 UAAP-NCAA Bantay Bata 163 All-Star game. Last year, the UAAP All-Stars won over its NCAA counterparts, curiously with the same score 83-78.

Sam Ekwe (San Beda) was a big factor in the win, scoring the last six points for the NCAA, including the go-ahead 79-77 with 1:11 left on the clock after Mark Borboran’s (UE) three-pointer tied the game earlier. He had a nice block on Borboran in the ensuing play and scored on a follow-up to pad the lead to four, 81-77 with 42.6 left. After Borboran hit one of two free throws, Ekwe canned in two charities with 4.1 seconds to provide the final count.
Continue reading “NCAA upends UAAP!”

Elmer Espiritu is new slam dunk champ, UAAP bests NCAA 83-78

[tag]UE[/tag]’s [tag]Elmer Espiritu[/tag] pulled off a major upset in the [tag]Bantay Bata 163 UAAP-NCAA All-Stars[/tag] [tag]slam dunk[/tag] competition. Espiritu did a [tag]360-degree, double-clutch jam[/tag] in the finals to nose out [tag]Ateneo’[/tag]s [tag]JC Intal[/tag], 48-47 and crown himself slam dunk champ. Intal, the 2004 champion, wore the no. 24 San Miguel jersey of Ateneo head coach [tag]Norman Black [/tag]and tried to execute an in between-the-legs one-handed tomahawk slam that would have brought the house down if he only made it. In the qualifiers, Intal was tops, scoring a perfect 50 from the judges after suiting up with a Nino Canaleta jersey and completing a [tag]rim-rattling windmill jam[/tag].

Continue reading “Elmer Espiritu is new slam dunk champ, UAAP bests NCAA 83-78”

The 2006 Collegiate Champions League

After being treated to two exciting collegiate championship series recently, another league, patterned after the US NCAA Sweet 16 format, will commence hostilities today, October 5, 2006.

Kicking off the tournament is the game pitting oft-champions of the NCRAA, St. Francis de Assisi Doves, versus NCAA Final Four protagonist, the Mapua Institute of Technology Cardinals. This will be followed by the clash between the UAAP Final Four second seed, University of the East Warriors, and the champions of the UCAA league, the Emilio Aguinaldo College Generals.

Continue reading “The 2006 Collegiate Champions League”

San Beda Ends 28 at 82!

san beda red lions ncaa champions

The San Beda Red Lions are once again kings of the hill!

The Red Lions won their first championship in 28 years in the NCAA Season 82 by eking out a 68-67 win over the valiant PCU Dolphins in a game which, in my opinion, was the season’s BEST.

The first two games were both blowouts, the first by SBC, the second by the Dolphins. Game 3 looked like it was headed in the same direction, with the cagers from Mendiola leading by 20 early in the fourth canto.

Then came a stirring, unbelievable, astounding rally by the never-say-die Dolphins.

Continue reading “San Beda Ends 28 at 82!”

NCAA: Thoughts on Mr. Ekwe

Defense wins championships. Defense is the best offense.

Name all the basketball cliches on defense all you want… San Beda just showed me how defense ought to be played last night. And the best person to epitomize the Red Lions’ brand of D was the 2nd Rookie-MVP himself, Mr. Sam Ekwe.

I’d like to call him Mr. Ekwe from now on.

If you saw game 1 of the 82nd NCAA Championship, you will just marvel at how Mr. Ekwe committed himself to playing defense ALL NIGHT. He simply chased ALL of PCU’s shots that came in sight. In the early moments of the 1st quarter, Mr. Ekwe chased Castro, who was streaking for a layup, and caught the ball flush on the board. Castro already had a headstart, but Mr. Ekwe made sure that there were no “gimmes” for the night. When I saw that… I knew he was deserving of the award. Nigerian or not.

Continue reading “NCAA: Thoughts on Mr. Ekwe”

Sam Ekwe is NCAA MVP!

Looks like our poll respondents got it right — the Nigerian behemoth is this year’s Most Valuable Player, Sam Ekwe of the San Beda Red Lions!

I’m blogging just right before the SBC-PCU Finals game, and here’s the rest of the awards:

Rookie of the Year — Sam Ekwe, SBC
Defensive Player — Sam Ekwe, SBC
Most Improved Player — Boyet Bautista, Letran

Mythical First Five:

Khiel Misa, UPHDS
Jason Castro, PCU
Gabby Espinas, PCU
Floyd Dedicatoria, JRU
Sam Ekwe, SBC

*Just a quick thought: I thought San Beda’s Yousif Aljamal should’ve been in the First Five (he slid down to the 2nd team). He *is* the leader of San Beda, and he was actually my pick for MVP. The commentators just mentioned seconds ago that Aljamal finished 6th in the race.